Skip to content

Fred Page Cup BCHL Finals Starts Good Friday

Chilliwack/Penticton – For the second year in a row, the Chilliwack Chiefs are in the Fred Page Cup BCHL Finals and will try to achieve what they were not able to last season against West Kelowna. Penticton was last here in 2015 when they defeated Nanaimo on the way to the Western Canada Cup and a spot at the RBC Cup.

Here are a few facts and figures regarding this year’s Finals:

  • The teams played twice during the regular season with Penticton winning both times, including an overtime victory. The Vees enjoyed a 6-2 goal differential in the pair of wins, including a 3-0 win February 24 in Chilliwack.
  • Chilliwack was a No. 2 seed in the Mainland Division but defeated Wenatchee in Round 2. Chilliwack has home-ice advantage in the Finals by virtue of their 88 regular-season points, which bests Penticton’s 86.
  • Both teams won 41 games in the regular season with Penticton earning 10 of those in overtime.
  • Penticton has gone to Game 7 in each of their playoff rounds so far. They defeated Merritt in Round 2 and Vernon in Round 3. (Penticton had a bye in Round 1).
  • Chilliwack defeated Langley in five games in Round 1, swept Wenatchee in Round 2 and got past Victoria in six games in Round 3.
  • Despite not playing in Round 1, Penticton has played just two less games in the playoffs than Chilliwack.
  • Chilliwack’s Jordan Kawaguchi leads the playoffs with 28 points in 16 games. Penticton’s Nic Jones leads Penticton with 17 points in 14 games. Kawaguchi (1.75) and Jones (1.21) are the top-two players in the postseason in points per game.
  • Chilliwack’s power play in the playoffs is operating at 27.8 per cent, including 36.4 per cent on home ice. The Vees power play sits at 15. 8 per cent, but is just 1-for-24 on the road.
  • Both goalies, Chilliwack’s Mark Sinclair and Penticton’s Mat Robson, have allowed 32 goals in the playoffs.
  • Penticton last won the Fred Page Cup in 2015 when they defeated Nanaimo in six games. Chilliwack last won the Fred Page Cup in 2002 when they defeated Vernon in six games. Chilliwack was not in the BCHL from 2006 to 2011 when the franchise moved to Langley.
  • Vees head coach Fred Harbinson was the BCHL coach of the year in 2015. Chiefs head coach Jason Tatarnic won that award last season.

The series schedule is as follows:

  • Game 1 – Friday, April 14, 7pm Penticton @ Chilliwack
  • Game 2 – Saturday, April 15, 7pm Penticton @ Chilliwack
  • Game 3 – Tuesday, April 18, 7pm Chilliwack @ Penticton
  • Game 4 – Wednesday, April 19, 7pm Chilliwack @ Penticton
  • Game 5 – Saturday, April 22, 7pm Penticton @ Chilliwack*
  • Game 6 – Monday, April 24, 7pm Chilliwack @ Penticton*
  • Game 7 – Tuesday, April 25, 7pm Penticton @ Chilliwack*

*If necessary

Share This:

Simon Gibson Election Ad 2022

Willow Reichelt Election Ad 2022

Shirley Wilson Election Ad Abbotsford School Trustee

2022 Patricia Ross Election Ad

Barlynn Cleaning Services

604 392 5834

Locks Pharmacy


Small Business BC

Community Futures

Diabetes Association

Chill TV

Unique Thrifting


On Key

Related Posts