Skip to content

District of Kent Appoints New Deputy Fire Chief and Emergency Coordinator

Agassiz – A five-member panel adjudicated the appointment of Michael Van Laerhoven to be the new Deputy Fire Chief & Emergency Coordinator to assist with the services of emergency management and fire protection support for the District of Kent, Seabird Island Band and the Village of Harrison Hot Springs.

District of Kent Mayor Sylvia Pranger states that “the great partnership between the three communities continued when we were looking for a replacement when Gerald Basten recently advanced to the Fire Chief position due to the retirement of Wayne Dyer”.

Mr. Van Laerhoven has been with the Agassiz Fire Department for eight years and was selected unanimously by the panel consisting of: Mr. Greg Cross, Director of Public Works/Housing, Seabird Island Band; Mr. Keith Boswell, Coordinator, Fire & Safety Division, Justice Institute of British Columbia; Madeline McDonald, Chief Administrative Officer, Village of Harrison Hot Springs; and Mr. Wallace Mah, Chief Administrative Officer, District of Kent.

Share This:

Coast Valley Markets

Lorne Oss 604 392 5834


Chill TV


Small Business BC

Community Futures

Unique Thrifting

On Key

Related Posts