Skip to content

Former Chiefs, Eagles Up For NCAA Hobey Baker Award

Burnaby/Surrey/Chilliwack – There are 11 BCHL alumni up for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, as announced by the voting committee today.

Given annually to the top player in NCAA men’s hockey, the Hobey Baker recognizes players for their excellence on the ice but also for their academic achievement and community contributions.

At this stage of the process, there are 66 players eligible and fans can vote once per day for their choice via the Hobey Baker Facebook page. BCHL alums up for votes right now are:


NCAA program

BCHL Team(s)


Michael Garteig


Powell River Kings, Penticton Vees

Prince George, B.C.

Danton Heinen


Surrey Eagles

Langley, B.C.

Mario Puskarich


Langley Rivermen

Fort Walton Beach, Fla

Luke Juha

Penn State

Vernon Vipers

Mississauga, Ont.

Max French


West Kelowna Warriors

West Kelowna, B.C.

Mitch Gillam


Chilliwack Chiefs

Peterborough, Ont.

Tyler Morley


Surrey Eagles

Burnaby, B.C.

Kevin Boyle


West Kelowna Warriors

Manalapan, NJ

Alex Petan

Michigan Tech

Coquitlam Express

Delta, B.C.

Jordan Masters

Arizona State

West Kelowna Warriors

Rochester, NY

Jamie Phillips

Michigan Tech

Powell River Kings

Caledonia, Ont.

Criteria for choosing the finalists is weighted with fan voting accounting for a minority percentage. The list will be narrowed to 10 finalists as the road to the NCAA Frozen Four begins. A ‘Hobey Hat Trick’ of three players will be announced after that with the winner ultimately being named during the Frozen Four, happening this year from April 7 to 9 at Tampa Bay Times Forum.

Former BCHLers to win the Hobey Baker Memorial Award are Ryan Duncan (North Dakota, 2007), Jason Krog (New Hampshire, 1999), Brendan Morrison (Michigan, 1997) and Paul Kariya (Maine, 1993). Other notable names to win are Neal Broten (1981), George McPhee (1982), Chris Drury (1998), Ryan Miller (2001), Matt Carle (2006), Johnny Gaudreau (2014) and Jack Eichel (2015).

Share This:

Locks Pharmacy


Chilliwack Pride Festival 2022

Small Business BC

Community Futures

Diabetes Association

Chill TV

Unique Thrifting


On Key

Related Posts