Skip to content

Chilliwack Spartans Swimmer Lucas Van Herk Awarded BC’s Top Male Para Swimmer

Chilliwack – Huge congratulations to Chilliwack Spartans swimmer Lucas Van Herk who was awarded BC’s Top Male Para Swimmer over the weekend by Swim BC.

Lucas is a Grade 9 student of Sardis Senior Secondary. It was awarded to him at the BC Swimming Congress over the weekend up in Whistler.

The complete list of Swim BC Winners:

BC Swimming Hall of Fame Induction – TED SIMPSON (in memory)

  • Ted was the Head Coach of the Vancouver Y Torpedoes and in later years, coached master’s swimmers. He was valued as a coach who made swimming fun and made swimmers feel good about themselves.
  • Coach of Olympians Ron Jacks and Bill Mahony
  • 1966 British Empire Games Coach, both his swimmers (Jacks and Mahoney) medalled at these Games

BC Swimming Hall of Fame induction- DONOVAN TILDESLEY (Vancouver)

  • Canada’s flag bearer at 2008 Paralympics
  • Sydney 2000 Paralympics – Bronze 200 Medley
  • Athens 2004 Paralympic – Silver 200 Medley + 400 freestyle; Bronze 100 Freestyle
  • Beijing 2008 Paralympics – Bronze 100 freestyle
  • World Record holder
  • Tildesley attended the University of British Columbia graduating with a BA in 2008. Donovan works full-time as an insurance broker in Vancouver and is also a professional inspirational speaker, sharing his stories with audiences of all ages, from business executives to schoolchildren.

BC Swimming Hall of Fame induction – RICHARD WEINBURGER (Victoria)

  • Bronze 10km Open Water – 2010 Pan Pacific Championships
  • Gold 10km Open Water – 2011 Pan American Games
  • Bronze 10km Open Water – 2012 London Olympics
  • Silver – (event) 2015 FINA World Cup
  • Swam with Pacific Coast Swimming, & University of Victoria

Female Coach of the Year – JY LAWRENCE (Pacific Sea Wolves – PSW / South Surrey)

  • 1 athlete chosen for CSI Pacific targeted athlete
  • 1 athlete on the Canada Games Team
  • Selected coach for the Canada Games Team
  • 6 Provincial records set by the 11-12 Relay Team

Male Coach of the Year – ANDREW LENNSTROM (Hyack Swim Club – New Westminster)

  • 15 Provincial Records set by his athletes
  • 6 CSI Pacific targeted athletes nominated
  • 1 of Canada Games assistant coaches
  • 1 athlete selected to the Canada Games Team

Senior Male Swimmer of the Year – JACOB BRAYSHAW (KISU Swim Club – Penticton)

  • 7th at the World Para-Championships
  • National Record in the Mixed 4×50 Medley Relay (Para) – at the World Para Swimming Championships


  • CSI Targeted Athlete
  • Won 1 Provincial Aggregate
  • Member of Langley Olympians Relay Team, who broke 4 Provincial records:
    • 15-17 SCM 4×50 Medley (x2)
    • 15-17 LCM 4×100 Medley
    • 15-17 LCM 4×50 Medley

Male Provincial Swimmer – LAON KIM (Hyack Swim Club – New Westminster)

  • 2 National Records
  • 15 Provincial Records
  • CSI Targeted Athlete
  • Member of the Canada Games Team
  • Won Provincial aggregate for both winter and summer Provincial Championships

Female Para Provincial Swimmer – SOPHIE WOOD (Pacific Coast Swimming – Victoria)

  • Highest percentage over the provincial qualifying time for a single – 50m freestyle

Male Para Provincial Swimmer – LUCAS VAN HERK (SPARTANS – Chilliwack)

  • Highest percentage over the provincial qualifying time for a single event – 200IM

Club of the Year – SIMON FRASER AQUATICS (Burnaby)

  • 27 National Qualifiers
  • Scored 3589.5 points combined summer & winter provincials
  • 11 athletes in the CSI pacific targeted athlete group (wording)
  • Strong increase in swimmer registration over the past 5 years

President’s Award Winner – ROB TRAYNOR (Richmond)

Volunteer of the Year – KATHY FINDLAY (VANCOUVER PACIFIC SWIM CLUB – Vancouver)

Official of the Year – GLENN GREIG (Qualicum Beach)

2022 Spartan Swimmer Lucas Van Herk/Swim BC

Share This:

All About Expos

Chilliwack Jets 604 392 5834


Chill TV


Small Business BC

Community Futures

Unique Thrifting

On Key

Related Posts