Fraser Valley/Victoria – The Province is providing $110 million to local governments around B.C. for services that British Columbians count on, such as investments in infrastructure, like water and sewer, and services like policing.

For a complete list of approved grants for 2019, visit:

Abbotsford – $2,087,112

Chilliwack – $1,073,453

Hope – $ 609,944

Mission – $ 465,655

Harrison $ 323,888

Agassiz/Kent – $ 563,094

Unconditional funding is provided to local governments through three programs:

  • Small Community Grants: municipalities with populations of 20,000 or fewer receive a grant that can be used to fund any local priority, such as garbage and recycling pick-up services, or infrastructure projects, such as roadworks and water and sewer upgrades.
  • Regional District Basic Grants: all regional districts and the Islands Trust receive a grant to assist with their administration costs.
  • Traffic Fine Revenue Sharing Transfers: municipalities with populations of 5,000 or more that are directly responsible for paying for policing services receive a grant to help pay for community safety programs and policing.

The annual grants enable local governments to spend the funding according to their needs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 − fourteen =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.