Skip to content

Former Chilliwack Chief Up For Hobey Baker Award

Locks Pharmacy


Cottonwood Center

Small Business BC

Community Futures

Diabetes Association

Chill TV

Unique Thrifting

The opening list of names for the Hobey Baker Award, given annually to the top player in NCAA hockey, has been announced and five BCHL alums are in the running.

Former Coquitlam Express forward Alex Kerfoot of Harvard, Chilliwack Chiefs grad Mitch Gillam of Cornell, former Langley Rivermen standout Mario Puskarich of Vermont, former West Kelowna Warriors captain Max French of Bentley and Salmon Arm Silverbacks alum Angus Redmond of Michigan Tech are all on the long list of 66 names put out this week.

Fans are encouraged to vote and can do so via Facebook in the following link:


The Hobey Baker Award has been given out annually since 1981; the last three winners are current NHL stars Johnny Gaudreau, Jack Eichel and Jimmy Vesey. Recent Top 10 finalists for the award from the BCHL include Alex Petan, Mike Reilly, Joey LaLeggia, Matt Garbowsky, Joel Rumpel, Carsen Chuback and Justin Schultz.

Past BCHL graduates to win the award are Paul Kariya, Brendan Morrison Jason Krog and Ryan Duncan.


The long list out this week will be narrowed on March 16 down to 10 names after which more fan voting will take place. The ‘Hobey Hat Trick’ of three finalists will be revealed ahead of the 2017 Frozen Four in Chicago and this year’s winner will be announced April 7, the night before the NCAA championship final.

Share This:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

seventeen + four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts