Skip to content

FVRD, Abbotsford Among Winners At UBCM Community Excellence Awards

Locks Pharmacy


Cottonwood Center

Small Business BC

Community Futures

Diabetes Association

Chill TV

Unique Thrifting

Victoria – The Union of British Columbia Municipalities presented its 2016 Community Excellence Awards Thursday morning at the UBCM’s 113th annual Convention in Victoria.

The awards recognize communities that have demonstrated exemplary leadership through policies, decision-making or actions that have made a difference for their residents.

Award categories include:

  • Staff-led initiatives that go above and beyond the call of duty and demonstrate what it truly means to be a ‘public servant’
  • Setting the bar for enhancing citizen awareness of local government through social media and other forms of engagement
  • Making responsible decisions that showcase environmental stewardship or developing best agricultural practices.

In all categories, winners offer a path for other municipalities to follow, not only in British Columbia but around the world, making communities more efficient, healthier and ultimately, more livable.

Best Practices, Excellence in Action

+++Winner: Fraser Valley Regional District, Fraser Valley Express Implementation Plan

Winner: City of Richmond, District Energy Implementation

Honourable Mention: City of North Vancouver, City-led Rezoning of Moodyville Neighbourhood

Best Practices, Organizational Development & Improvements

Winner: Corporation of the Village of Salmo, Rebuilding the Public Record

Best Practices, Community Connections

+++Winner: City of Abbotsford, Abbotsforward – Official Community Plan Update

Leadership & Innovations, Green Initiatives

Winner: City of North Vancouver, Invasive Plant Management Program

Honourable Mention: City of Fort St. John, Micro-Hydro and Passive House Projects

Leadership; & Innovation, Agriculture

Winner: District of North Saanich, Sandown Redevelopment Project

Winner: City of Surrey, The BioPod Initiative


Winner: Cariboo Regional District, Cariboo Chilcotin Regional Hospital District’s Quesnel Primary Care Clinic

Honourable Mention: Okanagan-Similkameen Regional District, South Okanagan-Similkameen Protocol Agreement

Thank you for our 2016 sponsors: Bull Housser, Urban Systems, Green Communities Committee, Ministry of Agriculture, BC Agriculture Council and Fraser River Industrial Association.

Share This:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

No comment yet, add your voice below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

1 × two =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

On Key

Related Posts