BCTF Executive Committee Re-elected- Includes Chilliwack Teacher

Vancouver/Fraser Valley – Elections for the BCTF Executive Committee were held on Monday afternoon at their AGM (102nd Annual General Meeting). The President and Vice-Presidents serve one-year terms and face elections every year.

Chilliwack‘s Clint Johnston was re-elected 2nd Vice President), Quesnel’s Teri Mooring  re-elected 1st Vice President, and Vancouver’s Glen Hansman re-elected President.

BCTF President Glen Hansman praised the new government’s focus on childcare and housing in the NDP’s first full budget, saying, “British Columbia needs to tackle the current affordability crisis in order to solve the ongoing teacher shortage in BC schools.” 

Back on Saturday, wages were brought up again, citing the disparity with other provinces. Hansman told the crowd that the province’s low starting salaries mean that B.C. still isn’t attracting enough qualified teachers to fill a shortage that continues to reverberate across the province.

B.C. starting salaries are $10,000 to $15,000 lower than Ontario or Alberta.

Delegates will also hear from Premier John Horgan at 9:30 a.m. on Tuesday, March 20.

More to come.

L-R – Chilliwack’s Clint Johnston , Quesnel’s Teri Mooring and Vancouver’s Glen Hansman

Be the first to comment on "BCTF Executive Committee Re-elected- Includes Chilliwack Teacher"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.