BCHL 2019 Award Winners – Chiefs Shut Out


Fraser Valley – The final round of votes have been tallied and the BCHL is proud to announce the winners of the 2019 awards.

Last week, a finalist was determined from each division for each of the individual awards and a second round of surveys has decided the ultimate winner. Chilliwack Chiefs Head Coach Brian Maloney was in the mix for Coach of the Year, which he did not win, even though the Chiefs were tops in the league standings.

This year, the league’s broadcasters were asked to vote for the BCHL Coach of the Year, in addition to the league all-stars which will be unveiled later in the week.

The 2019 BCHL award winners are:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player
Alex Newhook – forward – Victoria Grizzlies

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year
Alexander Campbell – forward – Victoria Grizzlies

Top Defenceman
James Miller – Penticton Vees

Top Goaltender
Jack LaFontaine – Penticton Vees

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player
Mike Hardman – forward – West Kelowna Warriors

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year
Joe Martin – Merritt Centennials

The non-voting awards this season are as follows:

Brett Hull Trophy – Top Scorer
Alex Newhook – Victoria Grizzlies – 38 goals, 64 assists, 102 points

Wally Forslund Trophy – Top Goalie Tandem (lowest combined goals-against average)
Jack LaFontaine and Derek Krall – Penticton Vees – combine 2.33 GAA

Ron Boileau Memorial Trophy – Regular-season champion
Chilliwack Chiefs – 42-15-1 – 85 points


Be the first to comment on "BCHL 2019 Award Winners – Chiefs Shut Out"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.