Chilliwack Announces Heritage Advisory Committee

Heritage Chilliwack - Skelton House

Chilliwack – Protecting homes and site under a heritage jurisdiction or decree, has been a challenge within the City of Chilliwack. The only real advocate that could go in front of city council to plead a case was Heritage Chilliwack. They are a volunteer organization with only so much political influence.

Chilliwack like many other cities are now joining the trend to install their own Heritage Advisory Committee.

The original panel was announced at Tuesday’s City Council meeting. The information is available on line at the City Website-Agenda-Page 44

The Heritage Advisory Committee (HAC) is a Select Committee established by Council. The purpose of the HAC is to provide recommendations to Council regarding the development of a Heritage Action Plan for Chilliwack, which will engage community stakeholders and establish a vision for the future direction of heritage resource management, identifying recommended actions to support that vision and the role of all stakeholders in implementing the plan.

The work of the committee will include review and recommendations regarding:

1. The terms of reference for developing a Heritage Action Plan

2. Development of the project work plan, taking into account community context appropriate levels of engagement of stakeholders on the development of a shared vision, the setting of objectives, and the evaluation of viable options

3. Review and recommendations regarding the draft plan and its implementation

The Chair, with assistance from a COC staff liaison, and the Vice Chair, and in consultation with the Mayor, will coordinate the membership selection process. The membership of HAC shall consist of two elected officials representing Council as Chair and ViceChair, a COC liaison staff member from Planning and Strategic Initiatives, and up to ten voting members appointed by Council.

The first Heritage Committee will be Chaired by Coun. Sue Attrill and Co-Chair Bus Mercer.

The Industry Representatives will be: Ray Ramey Atchelitz Threshermen’s Association, Jim Harris CFB Chilliwack Historical Society, Jon Kinneman Algra Brothers Developments and Dr. David Schaepe Sto:lo Research & Resource Management Centre.

The Community Members are: Laura Reid Heritage Chilliwack, Tristan Evans Chilliwack Museum and Kathryn Bourdon.

Be the first to comment on "Chilliwack Announces Heritage Advisory Committee"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.